The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

Specials / Book Review

Sorted by date  Results 1 - 25 of 28



Weller Public Library's books of the Month

WAITSBURG-Here are the recommended books for January from the Weller Public Library Adult Fiction "Dreamland" by Nicholas Sparks. Love story about risking everything for a dream- and whether it's... Full story

 

Library Reviews: by Todd Vandenbark, MLS.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys is the story of Lina, a 15-year old girl living in Lithuania during World War II. One night the Soviet secret police enter Lina’s home and send their family...

 

Local Book Review:The Waitsburg Family 1858 -1900 The Beginning

One of the first couples I met in Waitsburg was Sandra and Lupe Torres. They owned the building next door to the commercial property I bought in 2015. They owned Nothing New Antiques, one of only a... Full story

 

The Wrestler's Daughter

The Wrestler's Daughter by Markeeta Little Wolf The locally anticipated and internationally renowned memoir by Markeeta Little Wolf is now available on Amazon. Years ago, decades ago, I found a... Full story

 

Books to look forward to in 2022

Olga Dies Dreaming by Xochitl Gonzalez Dive into the complex family dynamics of siblings Olga and Prieto Acevedo, who are taking New York City by storm. Prieto is quickly climbing to stardom in the...

 

Book Review: Director's Choice

Razorblade Tears by S.A. Cosby Perfect for fans of John Wick, Razorblade Tears is a fast-paced, can't-put-it-down tale of revenge. After their sons are gunned down in broad daylight, two ex-convicts...

 

Thursday Murder Club series

The Thursday Murder Club: A Novel By Richard Osman Meeting in the Jigsaw Room at a retirement village, four friends take up the tradition of amateur sleuths in murder mysteries. It does become apparen...

 

Weller Library Library Book Club reads:

The Return by Nicholas Sparks Published September 2020 New York Times bestselling author Nicholas Sparks returns with a book in the tradition of his best-selling books Dear John and The Lucky One....

 

My book pick for November

In The Last Best Hope, published by Farrar, Straus, Giroux in June 2021, Atlantic writer George Packer cuts to the chase about America’s current social, political, and economic divide. Parker...

 

CCRLD Book Reviews

The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward Marketed as a horror novel, Last House isn’t quite what you’d expect. There are no ghosts or slashers, just a single man living with his...

 

Veteran's Day Reads

The Things They Cannot Say, by Kevin Sites In The Things They Cannot Say: Stories Soldiers Won’t Tell You About What They’ve Seen, Done, or Failed to Do in War, award-winning journalist and...

 

Book Reviews:The Little Paris Bookshop, The Paris Hours: A novel

The Litte Paris Bookshop by Nina George, translated by Simon Pare Reviewed by Todd Vandenbark, MLS. Library Director, Columbia County Rural Library District, Dayton, WA Floating on the banks of the Se...

 
 By Luke Chavez    Specials    June 24, 2021

My Kitchen Library: Farm-to-table-to-books

In recent years the term farm-to-table has been overused and even parodied. As a server at some high-end farm-to-table restaurants in Seattle, there were some moments I felt as though I was living in...

 
 By Beka Compton    Specials    May 27, 2021

Book Briefs: Beka's Picks

Not Your Typical Dragon, by Dan Bar-el Crispin is not your typical dragon. On his seventh birthday, Crispin tries to breathe fire for the first time. His family is surprised when, instead of fire,...

 

The Illustrated History of Apples in the United States and Canada by Daniel J. Bussey

The Illustrated History of Apples in the United States and Canada, by Daniel J. Bussey, is available at Jak Kaw Press. The seven volume set is currently on sale, priced at $150.00, originally $320....

 
 By Lane Gwinn    Specials    May 13, 2021

Hyperbole and a Half

I ran across Hyperbole and a Half, by Allie Brosh, shortly after it was published in 2013. At the time, it seemed like graphic novels were replacing the written word. I have to say I was not a big fan...

 
 By Beka Compton    Specials    April 8, 2021

Book Briefs: Beka's Picks

Anxious People, by Fredrik Backman Anxious People, by Fredrik Backman, is a poignant story about an inept, wannabe bank robber who disappears into thin air, a father and son cop team, and a handful of...

 
 By Lane Gwinn    Specials    March 25, 2021

Book Briefs: Lane's Picks

Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World by Jack Weatherford Though this best-selling book was published in 2005, I didn't read it until 2009. Before then, my reading material rarely included...

 

Book Briefs

If You Tell: A True Story of Murder, Family Secrets, and the Unbreakable Bond of Sisterhood, by Gregg Olsen. A horrifying, true story, If You Tell is the story of the sadistic killer Shelly Knotek...

 

Book Briefs

Spilled Milk by K.L Randis Young Brooke Nolan navigates the dangerous waters of a broken social service agency who is working to keep her abusive father in the house, rather than keep her safe. A...

 

The Space Race

Having a dog who requires long and frequent walks, I have begun listening to audiobooks. Often, if the book is a good one, I continue listening after our walks. I tend to rotate the selections...

 

Halloween book reviews from Book & Game

Pumpkin Patch - Bad Seeds By Brouhaha Games This is a great game for 9 and up. It’s a quick 15 to 20-minute strategy game. The object of the game is to plant and gather the most seedling pumpkins....

 

So, you want to start writing your memoirs or the next great novel?

For over a quarter of a century, Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Ann Lamont has inspired new writers with honest and down to earth advice, written with humor and experience. The title refers to advice Lamott’s father gave...

 

Quick Book Reviews

Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson I think it should be a “must-read” for everyone to help understand that the justice system is not equal for everyone and...

 

Book briefs

The River Cottage Preserves Handbook, by Pam Corbin, (Ten Speed Press, 2010). The British have a knack for preserving, and author Pam Corbin has created easy steps with gorgeous images in this book....

 

Page Down

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 02/07/2023 15:39