The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

By Todd Vandenbark
The Times 

Book Review: Director's Choice

Reviewed by Todd Vandenbark, Library Director Columbia County Rural Library

 

December 23, 2021

Graphic Lane Gwinn

Razorblade Tears by S.A. Cosby

Perfect for fans of John Wick, Razorblade Tears is a fast-paced, can't-put-it-down tale of revenge. After their sons are gunned down in broad daylight, two ex-convicts must put aside their vast differences and work together to bring justice. This book reads like a big-budget action thriller, and if it doesn't become a movie, I for one will be very disappointed.

Bride's Story by Kaoru Mori

A manga, or Japanese comic, Bride's Story is a lushly beautiful tale set in 19th century central Asia near the Caspian Sea. The story follows a young bride as she settles in with her new family in their village. There are hints at a larger plot, but much of the "action" has to do with the day-to-day lives of these people. As such, it's the art that really carries the story, with everything from the embroidery to the wood carvings to the sheep drawn in exquisite detail.

The House in the Cerulean Sea by T.J. Klune

The blurb on the cover of this book proclaims it "very close to perfect" and I must agree. The story follows the quiet and unassuming Linus, a social worker who checks up on orphanages that house magical children. He's called to pay a visit to one such orphanage, with its five children (six if you count the baby wyvern) and their caretaker. It's a story of love and found family and will have you laughing as much as it has you holding back tears.

 

Reader Comments(0)

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 01/19/2022 01:04