The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

The Times 

Waitsburg FFA Mini Banquet recognizes member accomplishments


Karen Huwe

Nicole Abel rewarding Koby Harris with the FFA President plaque.

WAITSBURG-The Waitsburg FFA gathered on June 7 for their annual year-end banquet, but this year, it was "mini."

President Koby Harris welcomed the FFA members in attendance. Brayden Mohney thanked the numerous community members and parents who continually helped the Waitsburg FFA chapter by chaperoning trips, hauling animals, participating in activities or just lending a helping hand. The following were recognized:

Dean Wass

Lisa Morrow

John Gleason

Keith & Karen Harris

Colter Mohney

Becky White

Stephanie Wooderchak

Charlie & Tracy Barron

Brian Segraves

Maisee & Anthony Peralez

Greg & Geraldine Maxfield

Keith Marlow

Jim Lynch

Lisa Norris

Mohney named three businesses/organizations that have generously donated their time and merchandise to support the various activities such as fundraisers. These businesses contribute to the success of the chapter through monetary donations, hiring FFA members to work and allowing the members to conduct events and they helped the members to clean up after events.

The McGregor Co

Waitsburg Gun Club

Waitsburg Lions Club

FFA members Alexis Reeves and Theo Anderson were awarded Agronomy certificates. The Agronomy Career Development Event (CDE) challenges students to build and demonstrate knowledge in the wide field of agronomy.

The extemporaneous Speaking certificate was awarded to Makenna Barron. This event challenges students to practice their presentation skills, articulation, and logical thinking, and advocate for agriculture and agricultural education.

In the Veterinary Science Career Development Event, students work in teams to demonstrate their technical competency with small and large animals by completing a written exam, critical-thinking scenario questions, identifications, and hands-on practicums. Koby Harris, Zac Bly, Jasper Morrow, Lilly Bone, Makenzie Lewis, and Alex Struckmeier all received Veterinary Science certificates.

The Agricultural Technology and Mechanical Systems Career Development Event helps students develop technical knowledge and an ability to work with others to solve complex agricultural problems. Koby Harris, Caleb Barron, Brayden Mohney, Owen Yost, and Jay Dimak received their certificates.

The National Chapter Award Program is designed to recognize FFA chapters that actively implement the mission and strategies of the organization. These chapters improve chapter operations using the National Quality Chapter Standards and a Program of Activities that emphasize growing leaders building communities and strengthening agriculture. Chapters are rewarded for providing educational experiences for the entire membership. The National Chapter members are Koby Harris, Brayden Mohney, McKenzie Lewis, and Caleb Barron. This year, the Waitsburg FFA Chapter placed 4th in the state and will be moving on for National review.

The National FFA Creed Speaking Leadership Development Event recognizes outstanding FFA members for their ability to present the National FFA Creed from memory and answer three questions related to it. Makenna Barron and Abbi Paolino were recognized for their FFA Creed Speaking.

The Star Greenhand award went to Makenna Barron, an award reserved for the chapter's most active first-year member who has plans for a strong supervised agricultural experience program and has demonstrated leadership within the FFA.

Greenhand FFA degree certificates were awarded to Elsie Mann, Kylee Henry, Owen Yost, Peyton Struckmeier, Makenna Barron, Laura Hill, Jasper Morrow, Garrett Palmer, Abbi Paolino, and Seazyn Russell.

Trap Shooting Team members were Koby Harris, Caleb Barron, Jasper Morrow, Garrett Palmer, Makenna Barron, Zac By, and Amy Bly.

The Dekalb Agricultural Accomplishment Award honors outstanding high school seniors for excellence in three areas: scholarship, leadership, and agriculture work experience was Awarded to Koby Harris.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023