The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

Columbia County residents encouraged to pay property taxes early


DAYTON—To respond to the economic impacts stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic, Columbia County encourages property owners to pay property taxes as early in April as possible, to help fund vital services needed now, and in the months to come.

Annual property tax collection is split into two payments, with due dates at the end of April and October. The due date for the first half of property taxes remains April 30 for tax parcels in Columbia County.

According to County Treasurer Carla Rowe, property taxes fund essential services in state and local government, including the City of Dayton, Columbia County Public Health, local schools, fire districts, the hospital district and other districts.

Taxpayers who are financially able are encouraged to pay the full year amount in April.

“Paying the full year’s taxes by the end of the month will help local districts who are already financially squeezed due to the pandemic. It is crucial to bridge the gap before the anticipated state or federal assistance arrives,” she stated.

In response to the COVID-19 emergency, most county offices, including the treasurer’s office are currently closed to the public. Due to the constraints of the emergency provisions, taxpayers are encouraged to mail their payments, ensuring the postmark is on or before April 30 to prevent delinquent penalties and interest.

Checks or cashier’s checks may be mailed to PO Box 24, Dayton, WA 99328, or placed in the ballot box located in the Columbia County courthouse parking lot to the west of the building. Receipts will only be mailed if requested. Please include the payment coupon or owner ID number located on the top right corner of statement.

Cash should not be placed in the drop box. If a cash payment must be made, please call the office between 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. on weekdays to arrange an appointment for payment.

Taxes may also be paid by a debit or credit card with a transaction fee, through the county web page at: or by calling the office at (509) 382-2641. Electronic check, debit or credit card payments also can be set up online through eNoticesOnline with the instructions included with tax statement.

Taxpayers who have been financially impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic and are in need of assistance are asked to contact the Treasurer’s Office at (509) 382-2641.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021