The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

By Tracy Thompson
the Times 

Hockersmith leaves Mayoral race to focus fully on the Flood and Emergency Preparedness Committee

Waitsburg City election ballots are in the mail


March 26, 2020

Ballots are in the mail for Waitsburg’s next City Council and Mayoral election. Although current councilmember Kate Hockersmith is listed as a candidate for Mayor, at the March 18 City Council meeting Hockersmith announced that she was taking herself out of the race and was throwing her support behind current Mayor, Marty Dunn.

“Mayor Marty Dunn and I have been working together for four years and I feel very confident with the current city leadership. We are lucky to have a talented group of citizens returning to and running for City Council, this year. I’m endorsing Marty Dunn for Mayor in the 2020 election.” she noted.

A city councilmember since 2016, Hockersmith currently chairs Waitsburg’s Flood and Emergency Preparedness Committee (FEPC). She will remain on the committee as a private citizen.

Pastor Matt Wyatt of Waitsburg’s First Christian Church met regularly with Hockersmith following the February 7 flood, saying she was instrumental in the community’s quick response due to her training and preparation as the chair of the Emergency Preparedness Committee.

He also noted that Hockersmith met with him a full two weeks prior to Governor Inslee’s social distancing proclamation of March 16, to share her concerns about COVID-19 and the plans they could make to keep residents safe. Wyatt said, “I couldn’t think of a better person to lead the Emergency Preparedness response in Waitsburg, I have full confidence in her and her knowledge and ability, and the decisions she’s made in the past and the decisions she’ll make going forward,” Wyatt said.

“This committee has had a busy year with the flood in February and now we are also dealing with the Coronavirus pandemic. I have concluded that focusing my efforts on the FEPC is more important than running for mayor. “

Current mayor, Marty Dunn, and local business owner, Debra Callahan, are the remaining candidates for mayor.

Hoping to return as Council Members are Karen Gregutt and Karl Newell, along with former candidate David Paxton. They will appear on the ballot with incumbents Kevin House and Jim Romine. Not seeking reelection for council is Terry Jacoy, K.C. Kuykendall and Kate Hockersmith.

Ballots may be mailed with a postmark of April 6, or delivered to the black city payments box in front of City Hall.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 11/01/2021 21:58