The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

By Eric Umphrey
The Times 

The 2022 Baseball Hall of Fame Class has issues (part three)


December 23, 2021

This week I will review the cases of the players on the BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot that are in their second and ninth year of eligibility. The players are Jeff Kent, Gary Sheffield, Billy Wagner, Many Ramirez, Scott Rolen, Omar Vizquel, Andruw Jones, Todd Helton, Andy Pettitte, Bobby Abreu, Mark Buehrle, Torii Hunter, and Tim Hudson.

Jeff Kent has the most home runs as a second baseman with 354 and an MVP award in 2000. His career slash line over seventeen seasons is .290/.356/.500. So why did Kent get only 32.4% of the vote in 2021 his eighth year of eligibility? Kent’s defense was averag...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 06/07/2023 07:48