The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

The Times 

Waitsburg election results return Marty Dunn as Mayor, and add three new councilmembers


WAITSBURG—Preliminary election results for Waitsburg’s mayor and city councilmembers were tallied Monday. With a total of 318 votes cast, voters will return Kevin House and Jim Romine to the council and adds Karen Gregutt, Karl Newell and David Paxton as new councilmembers.

The election will be certified on April 15 at the next Waitsburg City Council meeting. The meeting will be conducted remotely via conference call. Interested community members who would like to listen in on the meeting should contact Waitsburg City hall for call information.

Mayor Marty Dunn received 220 votes to challenger Deb Callahan’s 34 votes. Despite dropping out of the mayoral race to focus on her role in the Emergency Preparedness Committee, outgoing councilmember Kate Hockersmith picked up 59 votes.

For council, Kevin House received 250 votes, Jim Romine received 241, Karl Newell received 235, Karen Gregutt received 234 and David Paxton received 221.

A total of twenty-five individuals received write-in votes, with Kate Hockersmith receiving 18, Pam Chapman and Don Siedelman receiving three votes, and Leroy Cunningham, John Moore, Larry Harris, Gabe Kiefel and Scott DeSomber receiving two votes apiece.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021