The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

By Dave Schreindl
the Times 

Coaches praise players dedication and skill improvement


December 19, 2019

Dave Schreindl

Monte Pettichord (Offensive Player of the Year), Seamus House (Defensive Player of the Year, and co-winner of Valley Football Player of the Year), Benny Bryant (Scout Player of the Year), Tayven Seney (Valley Football Player of the Year, Colton VanBlaircom (Special Team Player of the Year, along with Sean Evans, not pictured).

Dayton-Waitsburg's fall athletic teams banquet theme seemed to be the future is bright at its Monday night at the Dayton Elementary multipurpose room.

The only thing that could have gotten the message across better would have been to be playing Timbuk 3's song "The Future is so bright, I gotta wear shades," in the background during the ceremony.

"The future is bright," Head Football Coach Troy Larsen explained. "These kids don't play just one spot and they each got better week by week."

Larsen stated that is one of the things other coaches around the league noticed about Dayton-Waitsburg. At the conference meeting they asked him how his team was able to improve so much in just one year.

"I told them that our kids work hard, they learn and the compete," he said. "Our team competed, and we had a lot of fun."

Dayton-Waitsburg Head Volleyball Coach Tara Brenner happily explained her teams catch phrase for the year, Yamming it. She said they would say that to each other, and the effect was effective in boosting the bonding process and helped the team have fun.

"Our team goal was to have fun," she said. "Our catch phrase was 'Yammed it,' meaning you killed it."

The team also had a team motto Brenner said, "Teamwork makes dreams work."

"I'm proud of each one of our girls for their hard work," Brenner concluded before handing out the individual awards.

She began by honoring each of the seniors: Kailyn Lewis, Elise Steinhoff, Kirsten Miller, Anna Miller, Amy Farley, and Trinity Abel. She asked each of the seniors to state what they learned most and got from the season.

"Memories were what I got the most from," Abel said. "I enjoyed working with the others on the team and I want to thank the parents and coaches."

Farley and junior Sadie Seney were given the team captain awards. Seney and Farley helped lead the team that was the best blocking group in the league. Seney finished with 52 blocks and Farley had 39.

Seney's efforts saw her presented with the Most Improved award. McKenna Cully earned the Coaches Award and Miller was given the Most Valuable Player plaque.

Dayton-Waitsburg football team nabbed two Eastern Washington Athletic Conference all-conference selections. Larsen pointed out his team could only earn two second-team honorees based on its finish in the league, which was last. Seamus House earned second-team All-Conference honors for his play at the middle linebacker position. He led the team in tackles. Tayven Seney earned his selection to the All-Conference roster for his offensive line position.

The football team also handed out six yearly awards to eight players based on voting by their peers. The Valley Football Player-of-the-Year award came down to a tie, so the award was given to the two team captains, House and Seney.

"This award goes to the player who best represents our entire program," Larsen said. "They are a leader not just on offense or defense."

House also earned the Defensive Player of the Year and Seney took the Lineman of the Year. Other honorees included Monte Pettichord, freshman quarterback, for Offensive Player of the Year; freshman Benny Bryant, Scout Player of the Year; and two players were named Special Team Players of the Year, juniors Colton VanBlaircom and Sean Evans.

Fall Cheer Coach Vickie Hamann handed out the accolades for the fall squad. Seniors Kylee Laughlin, Marissa Mings, Kenzie Dobbs, Jurnee Griffen, Lillian Patterson, and Hannah Tiner were showcased first. They were followed by the rest of the team, Jordyn Helm, Alicia Apodaca, Jessie Atteberry, Julia Brooks, and Dia Adkins.

Special awards voted on by squad members were also given. Laughlin earned the Most Valuable award, Patterson's was the Most Inspirational and Helm was given the Most Improved honor.

Larsen wrapped up the event by thanking the parents.

"Without the parents we are nowhere," he said. "Most of these kids play three sports, and not one of them missed a game this year for academic reasons.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 07/09/2020 04:08