The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

By Dena Martin

Waitsburg council remains unchanged

Preliminary counts leave sitting council intact


WAITSBURG—Preliminary election results for Waitsburg’s mayor and city council members were tallied Tuesday night. With a total of 275 votes cast, the current Waitsburg City Council remains intact at this point. The election will be certified on April 17.

Marty Dunn ran uncontested for mayor and received 233 votes. For council, Kate Hockersmith received 206 votes, Kevin House received 205, Terry Jacoy received 188, Jim Romine received 184 and K.C. Kuykendall received 166. New filer Pam Chapman received 158, coming in just eight votes below Kuykendall. First time candidate Jim Elgin received 120 votes.

One potential new outcome is that longtime council frontrunner, House, may lose his position as top vote-getter. He has held that title since his first run in 2010. Preliminary results have him sitting one point below Hockersmith.

Mayoral write-ins included two votes each for Karen Gregutt and Larry Harris and single votes for Tank, Kate Hockersmith, Markeeta Little Wolf, Shawn l. Robinson, Connie Yaw Lind, Dan Cole, Ron Griffen, Chris Corrie and Anyone Else.

Lane Gwinn and Gregutt each received three write-in votes for council positions while Luke Chavez received two. Joe Smith, Dave Paxton, Stan Bly, Elizabeth Cole and Chris Corrie each received single votes.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 06/07/2020 23:11