The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

The Times 

Moratorium Placed on Marijuana Businesses in Columbia County


DAYTON--The Columbia County Commissioners have placed an immediate six-month emergency moratorium on new marijuana production, processing and sales in the county. The moratorium will give the County Planning Commission time to address deficiencies within the Columbia County Code, according to Planning Director Meagan Bailey, speaking at the regular commissioners’ meeting on Monday.

A public hearing on June 28 regarding a request from Walla Walla resident Meri Bush for a conditional use permit to open and operate the county’s first grow facility prompted county officials to take a step back and resolve some unknown issues in the code. Language needs to be established about the number of grows, processors, and retail businesses, to allow in the county, Bailey said. Also, there is no language in the code regarding whether to allow or disallow outdoor grows.

County officials recommended an indoor grow only when they appeared at the June 28 hearing on Bush’s application.

A public meeting with the commissioners will be scheduled within 60 days by the planning staff, after a SEPA checklist is completed and the state Dept. of Commerce has been notified about amendments to the county code.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 08/19/2018 00:36