The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

By Ken Graham
The Times 

Dayton Alumni Weekend is July 20, 21

Eulalie Schreck will be honored for her 80th year since Dayton High school graduation


DAYTON – The annual Dayton High School Alumni Weekend is coming up on July 20 and 21. Several classes will be holding reunions that weekend, along with the traditional parade on Saturday morning, and many other activities.

Longtime DHS Alumni Association members Dell and Phil Groom will serve as parade marshals.

The Alumni Association is also giving special recognition to Dayton native Eulalie Schreck, who will be celebrating the 80th anniversary of her 1938 DHS graduation.

The Alumni Association has announced some important changes from its past schedule of events. The Schedule includes:

Classes holding reunions will gather to reacquaint and decorate floats on Friday evening.

Classes with floats will present them at the DHS gym on Second Street for 9 a.m. judging.

The annual Alumni Parade on Main Street will start at 10 a.m., and begin and end at the gym. The public is welcome to come and attend the parade downtown.

The 42nd Annual Alumni Meeting will be held at the gym at 11 a.m. This is a change from previous years, when the meeting was held at the Dayton Historic Depot.

Alumni Potluck Picnic in the Park will be held “noonish,” after the meeting in the Dayton City Park. The Class of 1953 will have their gathering at the picnic.

The high school will be open for tours after the meeting until 1 p.m.

The classes of 1956, 1958, 1963, 1968, 1973, 1978, 1983, 1988, 1993, 1998, and 2008 will gather at various places around Dayton for dinner events.

The Class of 1973 is hosting a dance on Saturday night, and all alumni are welcome. The dance will be held in the closed street at Katy Donohue Wamble’s: home at 315 S. 2nd St.. Music and dancing begins at 8 PM. A big thank you to Kelly Wamble and The Throwbacks.

During the alumni meeting, new Alumni Association officers will be voted on and approved for 2018/2019. The proposed slate of new officers includes:

President: Cara Bachart Watts (1994)

Vice President: Deb Loften Hays (1982)

Secretary: Tammy Groom Ketterman (1986)

Treasurer: Jessica Bachart Atwood (1999)

Additional board members are Zella Fuller Powers (1956); Dell Groom (1957); Phil Groom (1961); Roseann Delp Groom (1978).


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017