The Times - Serving Waitsburg, Dayton and the Touchet Valley

By Rosie Gallaher
The Times 

Valley Girls Barrel Racing


December 14, 2017

Courtesy Photo

Senior Division Barrel Racing Champion Shayla Currin (l) poses with mom Kelli.

The Valley Girls Barrel Racing Association has just completed an amazing 55 years of promoting barrel racing in the Walla Walla Valley and surrounding areas.

On Nov. 11, 175 members and friends gathered in Frenchtown Hall in Lowden. Six ladies were honored, who have been in the association for 55 years, along with the six year-end champions in six divisions.

Overall Champion was Nicole Kelly of Lowden, who rode Froghollow Ricochet. Reserve Overall Champion was Julie Williams of Athena, who rode Streakin' to Hollywood. Kelly won a saddle donated by Bordertown Feed & Supply in Milton-Freewater and Williams won the Shirley Dickerson Memorial Buckle.

Shayla Currin, Cody Kessler, Josilyn Fullerton and Sam Ogden were each awarded a $250 scholarship.

Longtime treasurer Sue Ruzicka received her Gold Card.

VGBA welcomes anyone interested in barrel racing to look for more information at or call Debbie at 520-4677.

Open Division Winners

Champion Julie Williams (Athena) 107

Reserve Karen Gleason (Touchet) 100

3rd Nicole Kelly (Touchet) 83

4th Kacey Gartner (Touchet) 83

5th Michele Lyons (Touchet) 73

6th Jamie Thomas (WW) 70

7th Kim Kammezind (WW) 8th Sue Ruzicka (Dixie) 57

9th Jackie Culham (Athena) 56.5

10th Kelli Currin (Dayton) 45

Honors Division

Champion Judy Frazier (Touchet) 153

Reserve Kim Thompson (WW) 151

3rd Rosie Gallaher (Dayton) 114.5

4th Debbie Kentch (Touchet) 101

5th Adelle Smith (Waitsburg) 94.5

6th Janie Maycumber (Lowden) 47

7th Judy Poitras (Touchet) 40

Senior Division

Champion Shayla Currin (Dayton) 129

Reserve Cody Kessler (M-F) 115

3rd Alison Cranor (WW) 105

4th Sierra Bryan (M-F) 78

5th Alysha Farrens (WW) 60

6th Tommie Hoyecki (Pomeroy) 48

7th Cloey Frazier (Touchet) 41

Junior Division

Champion Elsie Mae Mann (Dayton) 128

Reserve Paige Gartner (Lowden) 116

3rd Hannah Brannock (WW) 98

4th Kristen Sewell (M-F) 97

5th Peytyn Pratt (Touchet) 92

6th Makayah Lawyer (WW) 85

Novice Division

Champion Ashley Lawyer (WW) 109

Reserve Kelli Currin (Dayton) 103

3rd Judy Poitras (Touchet) 90

4th Brenda Lennox (Touchet) 84

5th Cindy Lane (Prescott) 83

6th Tara Lawrence (Touchet) 91

Amateur Division

Champion Dana Grett (Touchet) 164

Reserve Michelle Warren (WW) 129

3rd Tamra Morris (M-F) 110

4th Brooke Martin (WW) 104

5th Kristen Gwinn (Touchet) 78

Courtesy Photo

Junior Division Champion Elsie Mann (r) poses with mom Jeni Richie.

6th Chelsea Mann (Dayton) 68

7th Jamie Mayberry (Prescott) 63


Open – Brenda Lennox (Touchet)

Honors Lisa Anderson (Walla Walla)

Senior – Sierra Bryan (Milton-Fr.)

Junior – Hannah Brannock (Walla Walla)

Novice – Brenda Lennox (Touchet)

Amateur – Alissa Morgan (Weston)


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017