By Dena Wood
The Times 

Dunn Easily Wins Re-election

Terry Jacoy and Jim Romine will be new faces on City Council


Terry Jacob

WAITSBURG – Preliminary election results for Waitsburg's mayor and city council members were tallied Monday night, with a few upsets resulting.

Incumbent Mayor Marty Dunn received 239 votes, easily holding his position against challenger Debra Callahan, who received 66 votes.

But there will be some new faces on the city council, with Terry Jacoy and Jim Romine taking seats on the board.

Jim Romine

Longtime council frontrunner Kevin House easily retained his title as top vote-getter, receiving 253 votes. Second in line was council newcomer and longtime Waitsburg resident Terry Jacoy, who received 212 votes.

The remaining three council spots went to incumbents Kate Hockersmith with 183 votes and KC Kuykendall with 162 votes. First-time filer Jim Romine nudged out current council member Karen Gregutt, receiving 161 votes to Gregutt's 128.

Additional council votes cast were: Lisa Morrow (119), Matt Spring (99), Lane Hill (67), David Paxton (65), and write-ins Walt Gobel (2), Stan Bly (1), Mary Phillips (1), and Frank Reser (1). Mayor write-ins included: Larry Johnson (2), Russ Knopp (2), Markeeta Little Wolf (2), Walt "Goeble" (1), Carl Peck (1).

A total of 317 votes were cast. Final election results are to be certified during Wednesday's city council meeting this week.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017